Area Man Now Has $6.35 In Nickels For Hearing That

MIDDLETON FALLS, OHIO – Area man Doug Hotchkins has amassed up to $6.35 in nickels, or 127 coins, for hearing a particular phrase repeated every so often.

“It’s nice to finally put a dollar amount to these nickels,” Doug said. “Before I would just guesstimate and tell people, ‘If I had a nickel for every time I heard that, I’d have a gazillion bucks.’ Or something like that.” However, Mr. Hotchkins expressed regret at what he described as a paltry sum. “Sometimes I’d tell people that if I had a nickel for all those times, I’d be rich. I guess six bucks isn’t exactly a fortune. But beggars can’t be choosers,” he said. Still, Mr. Hotchkins is confident more nickels will come his way. “I hear that a lot, so I think I’ll keep getting nickels here and there,” he told reporters. “It’s a good set of words that pops up every now and then, and I’m lucky to be around to hear it. Phrases like that aren’t a dime a dozen.”

Leave a Reply

